County Government
County Treasurer - Property Tax
Phyllis Rohlfsen
County Treasurer
155 South Hayes Avenue
P.O. Box 310
Primghar, Iowa 51245
Phone: 712-957-4185

Tax Department/Management:
Telephone 1-712-957-3210

O'Brien County Treasurer:
Phyllis Rohlfsen, Appointed in January, 2011.







Front left to right : Magan Horstmann, Phyllis Rohlfsen-O'Brien County Treasurer, Laura Scroggin.
Back left to right:  Sharon Johnson and Missy Hattermann.

The Tax Department is responsible for:

  • Collecting all property taxes, Mobile Home Tax, Special Assessments, and Drainage Tax.
  • Investing all county funds.
  • Apportioning all tax dollars and sending to appropriate school, city, or other taxing body.
  • Maintaining all bookkeeping functions.
  • Holding the annual Tax Sale.

Taxes are due in SEPTEMBER and MARCH, and BECOME DELINQUENT on October 1st, and April 1st.

To pay your taxes online go to:

Tax statements are mailed once a year, in August.
The Tax Year begins on July 1st, and ends on June 30th.